The Lego Jar (12/15/12) – A bit of normalcy, if that is possible

It has been quite the adjustment for all of us.  I have been working from home and attempting to rebuild somewhat of a ‘normal’ office routine.  There are so many things to juggle, but God is good.   This week’s Lego Jar is all about that normalcy and how it looks in my children especially.

She’s Already Playing Dress Up

My daughter has begun to put things on her to dress up.  She came to me one day to put her tights on.  Seriously?!  I did manage to see her wearing mom’s jersey around.  It is a little big on her, but she will grow into it. Oh, and for those who wonder, I did manage to get her tights on also.

A little too big?
A little too big?

Jello- Time

I don’t know what the obsession with Jello is, but my 5-year-old asked me this week a very serious question.  “Hey dad, what if our house was made of…Jello?”  I laughed at his silly suggestion, but he was really serious.  Anyone want to answer his question?

Clothing Issues 

With boys it is not entirely unusual to find one of them walking around without clothes on at some point during the day.  I know that sounds strange to those of you who aren’t parents, but those who have boys in their home get this.  Anyway, one day I came downstairs to my 3-year-old sitting on the couch without clothes.  I said, “why are you naked?”  He said, “Because I don’t have any clothes on.” Well, there you go.

Kids Make Me Emotional 

I have been emotionally up and down over the last few weeks.  There has been a lot going on with the church fire and sorting all of that out.  The news of the school shooting in Connecticut sent me over the edge again.    This makes no sense.   I think about parents who have presents under their trees for their kids who will never come home.  I wonder how someone moves on from such a traumatic event.  It is just hard to comprehend.  There is no place in a society like ours for violence like this.  It is deplorable.

So, I guess what I am saying is take time to appreciate the people you love.   If there is one thing we learn in these events it is that things can change in an instant.  Don’t waste any time!  That is what No Throw Aways is all about.

An Unexpected Surprise

IMG_2533There was a lady who gave me a Bible when I was on my internship.  It was the Bible I used for a lot of different teaching things because it was thin and easily transported.   When the church burned down so did all of my books, including the Bibles I used daily.  What I didn’t realize was that my wife had contacted this lady and she had ordered me a new one.  It came in the mail the other day and I was able to use it at youth group last night for the first time.

God is blessing in the midst of strange circumstances.  It is one more step toward normalcy.   I was also able to return my pen holder to full-time service this week.  I cleaned off the fire gunk and it is happily holding my pens again!

A happy pen holder, refined by fire
A happy pen holder, refined by fire

I hope you have a great weekend!  

5 thoughts on “The Lego Jar (12/15/12) – A bit of normalcy, if that is possible

  1. I was driving to the botanical gardens when I heard the body count and had the same thoughts about the Christmas presents. I had to remind myself that I went to take pictures and have a good afternoon. I said a prayer, then let it go for the moment (I came back to it later in the evening). How very tragic.

    How wonderul of your wife to replace your Bible in this way – the physical gift is there again for you – that was great! And I loved seeing the pen holder all cleaned up and working for again.

    Nanc

    1. The pen holder is just one of the few items I was actually able to retrieve and use. Almost everything else is either burned or destroyed by all the water damage. (or buried in large piles of rubble) It is so surreal to stand in that. I haven’t been able to go over there too often, thankfully. It is honestly hard to stand there. My pen holder is happy to have been saved from the garbage heap.

  2. I don’t think Jello will win any awards as a building material, but maybe you could mix with a lot less water and it would be a lot firmer. Perhaps you could mold the entire house in advance, pour the jello mix into the mold and voila! the house is built. Hmmm this may bear looking into. If it was done that way, I wonder how it would stand up to an earthquake? Maybe just get the jiggles for a few minutes… What if someone slams the door? Will that start the entire house to undulating? Tell the boys a house of jello would giggle and jiggle.

    Far less funny is the Ct tragedy. I’m still reeling from this. Parents and families who lose children never really move on, they just learn to deal with it.

    MJ

    1. I don’t know what their obsession with Jello is, to be honest. It is a strange thing to want to build a house out of. — As far as the school shooting goes, I don’t know how anyone could move on from that. I guess it is only by the grace of God.

Leave a Comment