Never Stop Hugging Your Kids

notebook2Kids have a way of taking life as it comes.  I believe that we all can learn to maybe laugh a little and enjoy life a little more by watching them.  This is especially true in light of the horrible school shooting on Friday.  It is hard to make sense of that.  The depth of wickedness is unbelievable.  The disregard for human life  is astounding.  We do move on with hope in a God who sees and knows all.  But it is not an easy thing to do for any of us.

I pause once again from the Sunday Series I was in to reflect on current events.  The events surrounding an elementary school shooting have been on my mind , especially as I put my kids to bed last night.  I was amazed at their simplicity once again.  My 5-year-old son randomly said to me, “hey dad, I am glad no one was in the church when it burned because then they might have had to go to the hospital or maybe even died.”  I love the compassion my children show to others.  He then continued, “you know it is a good thing we have so many places to worship.  We worship at school and we worship at home too.  You know when we pray we are worshiping  right dad?  You know everything about God.”

At this point I was laughing.  I said, “no, I certainly don’t know everything about God.”

He went on, “you do too!  You went to church when you were a kid, when you were an older kid, when you were 20 and when you were older.”

quietI then went into my younger son’s room.  He also wanted to talk about the church fire again.  I said to him, “goodnight, tomorrow is church day.”  He looked at me with a puzzled look and said, “where is our church?”  I said, “remember, our church is broken .”  His reply came quick. He said, “no, the school is not ‘fired’ and the playground is not ‘fired.’  I appreciate the way they keep things straight in their minds.  You see how simple they think?  Not only that, but their concern is not in over analyzing any of these events.  They process certain parts and move on.    The shooting will probably take more time before they say something profound about that, but we make sure that they know what is going on and that we pray about it as a family.  It grieves me to have to tell my kids things like this, but it is the sad reality of the world we all live in.   There is no doubt that we need Jesus!

As I settled them into their beds I was once again reminded of the blessing of children.  It is not that my children are perfect and stress free.  They bring headaches to me all the time.  I do recognize that they are a gift and should be cherished as such. Twenty families sent their children to school on a normal day without seeing them return home.  May it never happen again and may we never forget to hug our children.

Teach your kids the way!

6 comments

  1. You never know when the last time will be. It’s good to hug and kiss and say “I love you” as much as you can. Besides, if you don’t, who will? No one else will care for your family as much as you do.

    Nancy

    1. You are right when you say, “if you don’t who will?” That is a whole different discussion but there is a lot to be said about being intentional about those interactions with your children.

  2. It’s not just with kids. I’ve pondered off and on since my grandmother’s death in 1994 when was the last time I saw her and she was healthy, when was the time I saw her that she recognized me, when was the last time I saw her before she died. That’s not all negative – I don’t necessarly remember the last time’s because I did see her so much that the dates run together.

    Still, I never imagined there would be a time when she wouldn’t recognize me. I was one of the last one’s she forgot before she forgot us all. She did eventually though – shortly after she no longer recognized me, she no longer recognized my Dad or aunt either.

    One night I dreamt she was in her chair, laughing and talking and waving her hand like she used to before the strokes took it all away. I was not surprised when my Dad called the next morning and said she’d died overnight. Still, it didn’t stop me from putting my head on my desk and bawling.

    Sometimes you know when the last time is, but a lot of times you don’t.

    Sorry if this got off-topic, but as I said, I still think about it. Each time I talk on the phone with my daughter and sister, I tell them love them when we end the call. I try to kiss my husband each morning and tell him the same thing (harder to do if he sleeps in). Life is short.

    1. I think that is a vivid example of this. It reminds us to make the most of each day and moment. In fact, that is a lot of how I view ministry as well. So much goes into thinking about creating a “big” event, but if that is all people think about they actually miss the every day interactions with people. We can’t miss those! Every conversation, every person, everyday matters. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

Leave a Comment

