Mix Up Your Stressful Nights

Weeknights can be stressful. It seems like the moment the kids come home from school the universe is set on a collision course with itself.  No that doesn’t make sense.  They get home and need food because the three block walk from school wipes them out and they must eat right now! Okay, I guess it has more to do with their early lunch time.  Hey, let me tell the story.  Anyway,  then they unpack their backpacks and papers are strewn about. You need to sign this.  I need this money for the school activity.  Some nights there are sports or other activities.  But there is always time for homework and then next best thing, complaining about homework.

img_0616

School days are full days.

Tonight I was feeling the tension.  The kids were fighting. Then a couple of them were playing some random game that involved barking and marbles.  No, I did not understand it, but they were getting along.  That seemed to be going okay until they broke the glass jar.  Then there were tears.  In the next room homework was going on.  That was no going so well.  The way they are teaching math now is like a foreign language to me.  My attitude was going south quickly.   And then the suggestion: “Let’s play telephone”

How long has it been since I played telephone?  I mean that would never have been a suggestion I would have made.  Okay.  Let’s see what happens.  The kids started to come up with their phrases.  “The barn is green and yellow.”  Then there was something about ice cream and kibbles.  We were quickly laughing.  It is amazing how quickly the tension was gone.  There was no more fighting as the kids now tried to think of fun things to say. Looks like the kids figured out a way to bring some life to the boredom and tension of the evening.  My suggestion for you:  play a game of telephone and see what happens. Lighten up a bit and mix it up.  You will be glad you did.  I know I am. 

2 comments

  1. Laughter is the BEST. Our son has a knack for sensing tension and cracking a joke to lighten things up. As he got older he found Tim Hawkins online and started sharing videos with the rest of the family.

    I’m with you about today’s Math. My son told me they have changed some things in College Algebra from when we took Algebra. He starts talking and I’m standing there with the deer in the highlights look. Almost daily I repeat, “I’m so glad I’m not in college!”

    1. I was looking at a college student’s Algebra the other day. All I know is I don’t remember any of that stuff. It seems more complicated than back when I did it.

      Your son sounds like a lot of fun. We need people like that around. We watch a lot of Tim Hawkins videos just to laugh. It is healthy and fun. The kids have played telephone a few more times. Just so funny.

Leave a Comment

