Drawing on the Wells of Salvation

Great things are yet to come

Great things are yet to come

It has been almost two months since we left Cape Cod for Wisconsin; time has really been moving along.  This journey from where I had been for 7 years to where I am today was a long and emotional one.  And yet as I reflect this morning I am reminded of God’s obvious hand in it all.  This was not something I went searching for.  It was not something I manufactured under a veil of ‘seeking God’s will.’  I truly was listening to the Lord’s leading and taking the next step.

I am grateful to be where I am today.  I believe this is an excellent fit for our family and for what I am gifted in.  I know God has a plan for His Church here.  I believe as He looks out on our city His heart breaks even more than mine for those who willingly walk away from Him.   I had that on my mind as I was praying for our community this morning.  The Lord led me to Isaiah 12.

“Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid.  The Lord, the Lord, is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.  With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation.” – Isaiah 12:2-3

I am reminded again that this church has a specific purpose in the community to point people to the God who is our salvation.  We draw on that water ourselves and we give it away.  I recently saw a well being drilled just outside of town.  It is a messy and difficult task, but once that well is finally established,  it gives water for years.  That is a powerful picture of what the church is to be about here.  The hard part of establishing the Church has already been accomplished through Jesus Christ.  Now we come to the well of living water and find that it never runs out.  It encourages me to continue to be faithful to Jesus Christ and continue to point people to Him.  God is not done yet!

Leave a Comment

