Prayer to Keep God’s Will in View

 

Tis the season

Tis the season

You may have noticed by the amount of crazy, frivolous spending, that Christmas is coming.  Materialism has run crazy and taken lives in its wake again.  Getting deals does not make people evil.  The sinful heart does a great job of bringing it out of people.  But why?  How is it that rational people can get so short-sighted over an electronic device that will be obsolete in a matter of months?  It is a lot like getting caught in the undercurrent.  If you don’t prepare for how you might guard yourself from it, you will end up underwater.

It is no different for any other area of our life.  I know my family is currently in the midst of a transition from one ministry to the next.  That lends itself to a lot of opportunities for unguarded emotions.  What helps is to back up and look at the big picture – eternity.  We are serving the God of all the Universe.  We are obeying Him and not getting taken in by the comfort of settling somewhere where God is telling us to leave from.  That is a hard place to be at times because our ability to try to control everything gets in the way.  But there is such joy in the trust that comes from a relationship with God.   It means we need to keep our eyes on Him and not on other things.

I don’t know what that means for anyone reading this, but I do want to share how I have been praying in order to keep focused on where I need to be now.  And when I say that I don’t just mean as a pastor, but as a parent, husband and member of a community.

“He is always wrestling in prayer for you that you may stand firm in all the will of God, mature and fully assured.” – Colossians 4:12 (part of it)

I have been taking time to wrestle in prayer for my family.  We want to not just sort of settle in God’s will but we want to stand firm in it.  We want to have our feet firmly planted on the Rock of our Salvation, Jesus Christ.  So, I pray that my children, my wife and those I serve in ministry with will know the will of God and stand on it with confidence.  I also have been praying for progress and growth in our relationship with God. (maturity)  As we get closer, we become more like Him.  And lastly I have been praying that we are fully assured of that will.  As we walk each day in step with the Spirit of God, we want to know that we are right where we need to be!

This type of prayer involves taking a longer range view.  It means understanding that sometimes what is right in front of you is not what you might have chosen, but you know the God who has chosen it can be trusted.

One comment

Leave a Comment

