The Lego Jar (11/16/13) – Mixed Feelings

The kids are watching a Barney movie as I type this.  I have mixed feelings about that.

The truth is there are a lot of things I have mixed feelings about today as I hide from the purple dinosaur in the room.

Moving

We are moving to Wisconsin the end of December.  (I know, who moves to Wisconsin in winter?)  There are mixed feelings with that.    There is the excitement of a new home and new people to meet.  Then there is the anxiety that comes from taking 4 kids on a 1200 mile move.

My 4-year-old has helped with the packing by adding a bag full of rubber ducks.  I guess that helps.

IMG_20131107_072747

Look I helped!

Children – Do they ever stop?

I have mixed feelings as I watch my children grow up.  It is a lot of fun to see them learn and discover things and they are cute in pictures.  But they are just growing — a lot.

IMG_20131109_101733IMG_20131109_153139

Reading on her own while her brothers wrestle

Reading on her own while her brothers wrestle

I love the little things that I see my children picking up.  My daughter was recently running around the house singing “I have decided to follow Jesus.”  She even threw in the “no turning back, no turning back.”  May God grant that in her life and all of my children.

I love it when they come home from church and we talk about their Bible lesson from that week.  Kids have such a way of understanding the story.  I think it would do all of us good to hear a child tell us a Bible story sometimes.

And then there’s Si….

relax, have a sip a tea, mow a little grass

relax, have a sip a tea, mow a little grass

And with that, I guess they want me to make breakfast.   I hope you have a great weekend!

6 comments

  1. I too expedience mixed feelings…I think it’s because as humans, we tend to want to “live in both worlds” I remember being so impatient in waiting for my little girl to finally be able to speak and walk…then having to chase her everywhere….lamenting that she could talk and walk….we humans are fickle aren’t we? good lesson to just live in the moment huh?

Leave a Comment

