You are not good and it does matter.

What dirt?  I am clean!

What dirt? I am clean!

Even with all that goes on in the world today, I still run into people who believe that people are generally good.  Often what they say is something like: “I am a pretty good person and God is alright letting me live my life how I think.”  Really?

It does not take very long to get corrected on that thinking when the Bible is opened up and read.

“Since then you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.  Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”  – Colossians 3:1-2

“Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry.” – Colossians 3:5

This section of Scripture continues to list off more things you are to take off and a whole list of things that you are to put on.  In other words, yes it does matter to God how you live and no you are not good on your own.  That goodness comes only as a result of a transformation that happens as you trust in Jesus Christ.   It is at that point that these sinful things come off and these new things get put on.

This realization is actually key to the Gospel message.  When we stop and recognize that we are sinful people in need of a Savior it positions us to receive the gift of new life in Christ.   The message is not about behavior modification; the message is about a new spiritual life.  That is where true freedom is found – not in doing things our own way!

3 comments

  1. This is a good post, but what a touchy topic. I tried raising this with my grandmother years ago when she was in poor health and she got so upset she started crying and hung up on me, then called my Mom to complain that I was saying she wasn’t good enough to go to heaven. My Mom thankfully knew what this was about and her only comment was that she’d wondered if her mother truly knew Jesus as Lord and Savior and tended to think not after that call. We never did get her to listen to the gospel message. What’s unfortunate was she attended church with us for years too.

    My other grandmother though, knew for certain that she knew Jesus as Lord and Savior. She slept peacefully to heaven and we knew for sure where she was going.

    1. It is touchy, sure, but important. This post came from a comment by some church kids. It amazes me how few people seem to understand the gospel. I guess that is why we have more work to do.

  2. Unfortunately, a lot of people have this mentality. Many of my family members feel the same way. They feel, “Well, I’m not as bad as that guy or this one. Or, I don’t do such and such.” It is hard for them to understand the fallen nature of man and our need for a Savior. Good enough isn’t enough. Good post.

Leave a Comment

