Presenting God’s Word in its Fullness

Summer is here...almost

Summer is here…almost

Just like that it feels like summer for two reasons:  1) The tourists are in the stores again with their khakis shorts and 2) the weather is warm.  While true that we still have about a month of school left; we are starting to do more outdoors.  Let’s be honest, the last few weeks of school are a little silly anyway.  

This time of year brings about evaluation for ministry.  We don’t stop for the summer, but we do change what we do.  This weekend, in fact, is our youth group boys camping weekend.  This is a highlight of the year because it gets guys together in the great outdoors.  What is better than that?  

As I prepared the teaching portion of the weekend I came across a verse that resonated with me.  Youth ministry can be a real challenge and sometimes discouraging.  There are times we put a lot of effort into something and then have no one show up.  It is hard to figure out how effective we are actually being.  Yet, we press on. 

In fact, as I write this I am thinking about the following verse: 

I have become its servant by the commission God gave me to present to you the word of God in its fullness— Colossians 1:25

As I read that I thought – “yes!”  That is exactly what I want to do.  I want to be faithful to present the word of God in its fullness.  It is about being a servant to the call of God on my life.  It is not about me!   This is amazing because he goes to describe this more fully.  This word of God is Jesus Christ in whom riches we can never run out of.  

This is an encouragement for all of us.  We have opportunities everyday to present the word of God in its fullness to the world.  Let’s not waste the opportunities because we just don’t know what will happen next.   That means being intentional in relationships and ministries alike, whether you are camping or talking a walk in your neighborhood. 

 

One comment

  1. I think that presenting God’s Word to the fullest is a great goal. So often Christians don’t lead full lives because they don’t understand that God loves and accepts them as they are, not as some artificially acting and thinking robot. While God wants us to improve, he also does not want us hamstrung with fear.

    Nancy

Leave a Comment

