Our job is to make God known not to make ourselves know.

Our love with social media and notoriety with people we don’t know is quite intriguing.  Somewhere along the way the purpose of platforms like Twitter has gotten lost in a sea of needy people looking for followers.  I have been thinking a lot about this because the need to be liked seems to be a universal component in humanity.  We want to be liked and known by as many people as possible.  This little tidbit my children have even picked up on as I have posted things about them on this blog.  “Hey dad, put that on your blog” is something I have heard more than once over the last few years.  One time I put a picture of one of them on here and he said, “I am going to be famous!”  I assured him that his fame had nothing to do with who viewed my blog.

Look at me!  I am famous.

Look at me! I am famous.

A love affair with self.  I guess that is not a new phenomenon.   Is our goal in life to be famous or to make God famous?  Is our goal for all the social media sites to have as many followers as possible?  I don’t believe it should be.  I think a better goal is to be faithful to God in all things.  This blog started because I was just thinking about different things and needed a place to think about them.  That continues to be what this is about.  I share my life  here in hopes that it encourages others to follow God.  The goal is not to get as many followers as possible.  I pray often that God would have His way with this and I am grateful that some people read and are encouraged by this.

My point here is not that these things are bad.  Instead I feel that we all need to do a little motive check on why we do these things.  Does it really matter if you get more followers?  Does it matter if someone does not follow you back?  Those things are insignificant when you really think about it.  God is not looking at how many followers you have.  God is looking at your heart.

King Saul learned this the hard way.  He was set-up to be the perfect King.  He had the height, strength, and status.  If you were to look at his social media profiles you would see many followers.  But the most important aspect of his life, his heart, was way off.  He did not honor God and it cost him everything.

“But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” – 1 Samuel 16:7

There is not a moment in our life that is to be wasted.  We are to live with intention and attention.  The intention refers to the action of our hands and the path of our life.  The attention refers to our heart.  Intention without attention leads to a lot of rash decisions.  Attention without intention leads to a clean heart that makes very little impact on others.  We need to remember we are here to bring God glory and share that with others.  Let’s use all of these different avenues to bring attention to God’s Kingdom rather than trying to build our own.

One comment

Leave a Comment

