Honoring Life Above Politics

First born

Life– What a blessing! 

For all that is, or isn’t, being said about the Kermit Gosnell trial, I thought I would at least make a few comments on it.  I know that the outrage on social media is about how the media isn’t covering it.  I would agree with that, but there is an even greater outrage then that.  For so many people life has become such a trivial thing that it is reduced to politics and rhetoric.  In the end it doesn’t matter what media is or isn’t covering on this.  What matters is that lives were lost because someone disregarded them.  It deeply hurts to read some of the accounts of things that took place there because they were done to defenseless people .  It should bother us as human beings made in the image of God.  He is the author, the very source, of life.   We are not in charge of that no matter what we might think.

I pray not just for a media frenzy.  I pray for redemption.  I pray that people will stop taking lives, regardless where these lives happen to be.  If we just stop and think for a few minutes we would at least agree on that without any politics.

   This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live – Deuteronomy 30:19

2 comments

  1. Hurt an animal, make national news and go to jail. Kill a baby and no one cares. Our society is so frustrating and hypocritical. I think I spelled that wrong, but it’s late and I need to go to bed.

    Nancy

Leave a Comment

