God gives, gives, and then gives — Precious indeed!

Precious time

Precious time

My kids never forget the things I tell them I will do.  They have gotten so good at it that they even imagine things that I said and then convince me that I said them.  It is quite the gift.  As it turns out, my kids enjoy spending time with me because they view it as precious time.  Often at dinner one of my boys will ask me if I have a meeting.  If I say yes, they will groan as if I am going away for two weeks.  There are days I find myself wishing they would just leave me alone only to step back and realize that my children want to spend time with me with no other gift required.  How precious is that!

What a bonus it is when I tell them we are going to be doing something special.  Last year I traveled to Minnesota with one of my boys, and I took another to Six Flags.  When I go to the grocery store, or anywhere, I always have a bunch of offers to join me.  They don’t require these things, but I love to do this with them.  They, in turn, look forward to them with incredible anticipation.

When it comes to God, we also enjoy being in His presence, but He does not stop there with the blessings.  He makes it possible for us to participate in what He is doing.  He gives us precious promises in order to equip us for this journey of life we are on.   We need this because the world is full of corruption, beckoning us to join.  Our flesh tries pulling us away, yet God provides a way out.

“Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape corruption in the world caused by evil desires.” – 2 Peter 1:4

Here is an excerpt from A.B. Simpson’s Book “The Cross of Christ” which I think illustrates this very well:

“Someone tells of an old man who was riding through a country district when he was accosted by a native who asked him for a ride.  He soon began to talk to the man and found that he was not saved.  The natives asked him after a while what his business was in those parts. He said, ‘I represent a very large estate that has just been divided by the will of the testator and some of the heirs lived around here, and I am looking for them.  Their family name begins with the letter ‘S.’ and they are a very large family.’  Immediately the man became greatly interested.

‘Why,’ he said, ‘I know some of them; they are the Smiths, are they not?’

‘No,’ said the man, as he looked him earnestly in the face. “Their name is ‘Sinner,’ and I think you are one of them, and I have come to bring you a fortune.”

We are in a season leading up the Resurrection Sunday.  This is what it is all about!  There are only two other times this word precious is used in the Bible.  It is used to describe the faith of believers, the blood of Christ, and then the promises here in 2 Peter 1.  These are not just some small token of God’s grace, they are Himself!  We have been given Jesus Christ because in Him we find the answer to sin’s grip on us and our only way out of it.

May you find joy in the very presence of God today and comfort in the provisions made by His promises.

Leave a Comment

