Making The Most of Life

An opportunity

An opportunity

If you are like me, you have things that you look forward to and things that you don’t.  I love days that go as planned without any unexpected challenges.  I love it when I am able to go to lunch with someone, spend time fishing with my kids, or go on a road trip.  Then there are days I have appointments about difficult topics or have to spend time at the dentist’s office. These days might not be awful, but I would rather not have to do those things.

Today I spent some time at the Jimmy Fund Clinic in Boston.  It is not the most uplifting place to be because it reminds me of the many children with cancer.  I saw a little girl who was just a little younger than my daughter and it broke my heart.  It makes me appreciate my healthy children and opens my eyes to needs right in front of me.  People are hurting and looking for healing everywhere.   How do I make the most of that?

No matter what your day is like today, or the current trend of your life is like, there is nothing to waste.  Everyday is an opportunity to make the most of the opportunity.

“Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity.” – Colossians 3:12

That verse is a simple reminder to recognize that the people you come in contact with each day are not put there by accident.  God has a plan in each of those interactions.  This is why a few verses before this it says: “devote yourselves to prayer.” Each morning we should pray that we would make the most of the opportunities God gives to us.   We pray that God would open our eyes to the needs, hurts, joys and ways we are able to serve people around us.  This is what Jesus models for us and how we are then able to make the most of life.

 

Leave a Comment

