I am not skilled to understand

05_08_10---Cross-at-Sunset_webWith all that is said regarding music in churches, I feel like we might miss some of the intent of the music written.  This morning in church we sang a popular modern chorus “My Savior, My God.”  It is a song that was made popular by Aaron Shust.

Last week I was reading the book “The Life of Prayer” by A.B. Simpson and he quoted words from this song.  I found that to be odd since he has been dead a long time.

It turns out this song is a redo of an old hymn called “I Am Not Skilled to Understand”  I love the words of it because it highlights for us how much God has done for us that we just can’t fully comprehend.  Add to this Ephesians 3, where Paul talks about the unsearchable riches of Christ. and it becomes even more magnificent.

“Although I am less than the least of all God’s people, the grace was given me to preach to the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ.” – Ephesians 3:8

He really is the gift!

This song resonates with me because I am not skilled to understand this love for sinful man, but I take Him at His Word.  This message of God reaching to us should make us stand in awe of Him.  It is so amazing that we truly cannot grasp it!

Read the words of this hymn and take in what is being said here.  Truly we have so much to be thankful for because we have a Savior!

I am not skilled to understand
What God hath willed, what God hath planned;
I only know that at His right hand
Is One Who is my Savior!

I take Him at His word indeed;
“Christ died for sinners”—this I read;
For in my heart I find a need
Of Him to be my Savior!

That He should leave His place on high
And come for sinful man to die,
You count it strange? So once did I,
Before I knew my Savior!

And oh, that He fulfilled may see
The travail of His soul in me,
And with His work contented be,
As I with my dear Savior!

Yea, living, dying, let me bring
My strength, my solace from this Spring;
That He Who lives to be my King
Once died to be my Savior!

Words by: Dorthy Greenwell (1873)

2 comments

Leave a Comment

