Being Still Is The Easy Part

Be Still

Be Still

The month of January is over and I can’t say that I will miss it.  We spent the majority of the month battling a number of different sicknesses.   They just seem to go on and on.   Let’s hope February lives up to its love theme and provides some for us.  What always amazes me in these times is how God does not waste any opportunity.  There is a lesson in everything.  It is a lesson that I might have missed had I been well and running full speed ahead.

Since the fire the end of November, I have been very busy with a variety of tasks.  Some of these things are part of my normal job and some of them are as a result of not having a church building.  In either case, it does tend to wear me out on a number of levels.  If I am honest, a part of me (maybe the male part) wants to fix everything.  I believe that I can “make it happen.”  I might even try to make it happen to try to establish some sort of normalcy.  The problem comes when I realize I am working very hard to do something that God might not really want me to do.

This was the frustrating portion of the last month.  I spent a lot of time on the couch trying to rest.  That really causes tension in me because I have so much to do.  At the same time, I knew that I needed to be on the couch.

I realized that in all the resting I had to do that God was teaching me something.  The lesson was nothing new and is not even something that I am at all surprised about.  He was teaching me that He was God and I did not have to be.  My job is to walk in step with the Spirit and relish the fact that He is God.  I realized that all of my “making it happen” mindset might actually be getting in the way of what God wants to do.  As I rested I remembered this verse.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.” – Psalm 46:10

I had no problem with the being still part.  What I was missing was the “know that I am God” part.  There is so much we just don’t understand.  We want to do so well in the ministry God sets in front of us.  What we don’t want to do is take His spot.

Know that I am God

Know that I am God

Where are you getting in the way?  Maybe it is time to step back and be still and know that He is God.  Being still might not be so hard, but surrendering the desire to fix it all is something that involves a bit more.

2 comments

Leave a Comment

