What would you say if you couldn’t speak?

What would you say if you could not speak?

What would you say if you could not speak?

What would you say if you couldn’t speak?  This might seem like a trivial thought, but I actually think it matters.  If my voice could not say things, if all that comes out of my mouth was taken away, what is one thing that my heart would long to proclaim?  I wonder this because I say a lot of things each day.  Do I ever take the opportunity to proclaim the one thing I long to proclaim, Jesus Christ?

I have talked with enough Christian people to know that what we say out of our mouths and what we do with our lives does not always match.  We might get together on a Sunday morning and worship God, only to leave that all behind when we enter our jobs or schools that week.  I recently asked someone if what they claimed with their mouth matched what they did in action.  They told me that it did because they didn’t talk about Jesus.  That was not the answer I hoped for.

What I long for is people who can’t help but talk about Jesus, myself included.  They don’t do this out of obligation.  They do this out of love for Him.  They have been changed, set free, set on a new path, and they can’t help but tell the world.  That might mean it is costly.  That might mean people will mock.  That is nothing compared to what Peter and John did in the beginning of the book of Acts.

 But Peter and John replied, “Judge for yourselves whether it is right in God’s sight to obey you rather than God.  For we cannot help speaking about what we have seen and heard.” – Acts 4:19-20

To make a long story short, they did not care if people thought what they were proclaiming with their lives was wrong; they could not help themselves!   Beat them, imprison them, and try to quiet them down.  All the effort to take away their voice did not work.  It was too good of news to keep to themselves.

We all have a story to share.  It is a story where God showed up and redirected our life.  He has forgiven our sins!  The story matters and needs to be shared.  May we get to that place where we can’t help but speaking about what we have seen and heard.  The world needs to hear the message!  Let’s speak while we are able to.

Leave a Comment

