The Lego Jar (1/12/13)- My Own Personal Bail-Out

Now before you turn the channel with thoughts that I have started 2013 with a political post, let me explain what I mean.  The Lego Jar has served as a place to provide various people a slice of my life.  Unfortunately, this week was largely consumed by sickness.

You might remember last weekend I was on retreat.  The retreat was awesome.  If you go to the youth ministry page you will see some pictures from that weekend.  God did some incredible things while we were there.  Some bonds were formed and strengthened.  Most importantly  students spent time considering God’s Word for their own lives.  The downside of all of this is if someone unknowingly has the flu we are all in for it.   I think you know what happened.

This week I had to do something I have never done in youth ministry.  I had to cancel my weekly ministry program because of a flu outbreak.  That is unprecedented and something I hope to never have to do again.

I finally got out of the house last night to go to the pharmacy to pick up a few items.  My wife gave me instructions to get  a specific 4 items, use the coupon, and then come home.  I figured 2 out of 3 isn’t too bad.  I had given the coupon to my 3-year-old son.  He willingly held onto it like a trooper.  Unfortunately I forgot all about until I had the receipt in my hand.

The lady at the cash register literally bailed me out.  She took the coupon and made some random calculations.  She then handed me more money in cash than I probably should have received as a discount.  That and she bailed me out of the shame of coming home with the coupon.

I am constantly getting comments from people about the church fire.  I appreciate all the concern. My children have been bringing it up almost everyday in their attempt at processing it still.  This has taken more of a toll than we would have ever thought.  The other day I was looking through pictures on the computer when my 3-year-old came in and again told me he wanted to see pictures of “our broken church.”  Bless his little broken heart.

So I leave you with a few pictures from the church before the fire because my son wanted to see some.

Christmas 2009

Christmas 2009

VBS 2009- sitting on the deck at church

VBS 2009- sitting on the deck at church

Ordination – September 2008

Child dedication August 2007

Child dedication August 2007

Child dedication October 2010

Child dedication October 2010

October 2010

October 2010

There he is- in his nursery

There he is- in “his” nursery

Me doing some archery

Me doing some archery

Another picture in the narthex

Another picture in the narthex

VBS this last year

VBS this last year

VBS this past year also

VBS this past year also

 

 

I am so glad he asked to look at them.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

9 comments

  1. Hey there. Happy New Year!
    Sad to hear fire at church and ill health … Well I proclaim a 7 fold pay back on all stolen in the name of Jesus!
    Blessings and favour! God is Good!

    1. We are looking forward to how God takes the ashes and brings out beauty. If you want to look at a post from right at the time of the fire, here is one — http://wp.me/p1XHf9-1eD — No obligation. I just thought you might find the story of it all to be interesting. This is the first of the fire posts. If you scroll a bit there are more.

      All that to say — God is good and we are experiencing that in powerful ways.

      1. Hi there. I had a read of your original post after the fire a while back, commented, and then somehow deleted my comment … It was a good post. The building does not make the church, but what goes on in it … The community, the love. God will raise up a better facility, while His goodness continues to shine through people like you and your family! Well done for coming together regardless. It must give you a better perspective for the persecuted church. Blessings Derek!

Leave a Comment

