Good News: You are deeply loved by God!

The daily pressure to conform is on from the moment we get out of bed.  This is true for even the most confident individuals.  There are certain labels we place on ourselves and on others which start to shape our identity.  The truth is that none of those labels define who we are.  We have been created by a loving God.  We are His masterpiece!

My son's hand on my wall- A masterpiece

My son’s hand on my wall- A masterpiece

Immediately following the fire at our church, my children were upset because their art projects were lost in the fire.  This would seem like a small thing compared to an entire building.  To them the projects they had created for me represented a piece of who they are.  They spent time making a mess out of paint in order to give me those things.  Some of the pictures that hung on my office wall were not recognizable at all, but to them they were a masterpiece.  They designed them just the way they wanted and they knew exactly what they were.  They have since made me a few more items for my temporary office.  Each picture representing thoughtful, intentional, creativity.

What a powerful picture of what God does for each of us!  I know there are times I look at other people who seem to be more successful than I am, or seem to have things together more than I do, and I wonder what it would be like to be in their shoes.  Do you realize how completely out of line that is?  God has uniquely shape us all into the exact person we are.  There are no mistakes.  There is nothing to throw away.  You are not a bunch of spare parts.

And just like my children get excited over their projects, God gets excited about us.  I can picture God watching us in our specific talents doing what He has designed us to do and exclaiming “I made that person and I am so proud of who they have become.”

This morning I read Psalm 139 as a reminder of what this looks like.

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. ”  – Psalm 139:13-14

I pray that today, as you go about your daily life, that you would be increasingly aware of the hand of God in your life.  He loves us so much that He made a way for us to be with Him forever.  No matter what you think, feel, or what people tell you, know that God sees you as a masterpiece He formed.  Let Him define who you are today!

Leave a Comment

