The Lego Jar (12/8/12) – New Routines

So much has happened in one week, it is hard to even comprehend it all.  We have been mourning the loss of our church building and trying to move on.  We are doing quite well considering all that has happened.  These are some of the things we have been up to this week, so I titled this Lego Jar post “new routines” because that is what this week was about.

Just so that I don’t forget this, my kids have been after me to make macaroni and cheese for dinner.  I don’t really know why, but that is what they wanted.  So, one night I made them my own version of macaroni and cheese.  My 5-year-old says, “hey dad, in the old days did they make mac and cheese with cheese and noodles like this?”  Thank you Kraft for your contribution into my child’s life.  Also, I don’t know what happened in the old days.

This week we were able to find a few more things in the rubble that was the church building.  It is so overwhelming to stand there and take it all in.

From the front of the church looking back.

From the front of the church looking back.

As you can see it is a huge mess.  However, in my search for some other things I did manage to come across two photos from my office.  The interesting thing is that my office was on the third floor, which meant it was more likely to have suffered fire damage.  Yet, there were many items that were still there.  With the amount of water used on this fire, there was not much that could be saved.

But, these were awesome to find!

rubble

I also found a small scrap from a picture I had on my wall that my son made for me.  He was concerned about his pictures and actually gave me a hug when he saw this.  He then said, “dad, I am sad about our church.”

pictureI also found a stack of Post-It notes from my desk.  They were still wrapped, so I saved them.  Those things are expensive you know.

The youth group spent some time this week decorating cupcakes and packaging cookies to take to the various fire departments involved at this fire.  It was arson, so it was not easy for them.  Let me just say that this whole event was awesome!  We went around and delivered these packages and spent some time talking with the fire crews involved.

Here is a link from the Cape Cod Times with pictures — Cape Cod Bible Alliance Church Youth Group Delivers Packages (external link opens in new window)

Here are some of our own photos from that.

IMG_2524

Our group at the Brewster Fire Department

Our group at the Harwich Community Center after decorating the cupcakes.

Our group at the Harwich Community Center after decorating the cupcakes.

My boys being extra "helpful"

My boys being extra “helpful”

That will wrap up this week’s Lego Jar.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

4 comments

  1. What a lot of things in your post! I’m not sure which I enjoyed more – what you saved or thanking everyone who helped out that night. Both were good to see.

    The first day of my Advent readings had a great verse from Nehemiah 8:10:

    Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is our strength.”

    It was juxtapositioned against a devotion that used “Joy to the world” as its basis for the day.

    Have a good weekend. Your children are learning by watching how you’re reacting to all of this. Someday, years from now, it will all come around full circle.

    Nancy

  2. Hate to hear about your church. I certainly hope they catch the people responsible.

    I know how precious it is to find things after a fire. I would have been ecstatic to have found anything after ours.

    Healing and blessings for you, your family and church and all the people involved in the recovery.

Leave a Comment

