Everyday still means everyday!

I am not dirty!

My kids are learning to challenge truth. That sin nature in us all does not need any help developing.  Add to that people all over the place who have bought into the notion that God’s Word is to be reinterpreted or changed and you have a recipe for confusion.  In youth ministry I am constantly talking with students about what the Bible says in light of what they are being taught in the public schools.  It is hard for many to wrestle with the obvious differences.  I have even started noticing it, albeit in a small way, with my oldest son. (3rd grade) It is as Ravi Zacharias said, “We have a right to believe whatever we want, but not everything we believe is right.”

One day we asked our oldest son to do something he was supposed to do everyday.   His reply, “everyday does not mean every single day.”   He should know better than to say something like that to me.  What does everyday mean?   When I asked him about his definition of everyday I found that he really couldn’t redefine it.  All he knew was the he did not feel like doing what we asked, and there must be a way out of this.   He might want to redefine a word, but the word still means everyday.  Another time he was washing his hand in the sink in the kitchen after repeatedly being told to use the bathroom sink.  There he stood with his hand in the sink and I asked him what he was doing.  He said, “I am not washing my hands, I am just holding my hands in the sink.”  Really?!

This highlights in a silly way the thoughts of the world every day.  I know I need to stay on top of what is being put into the minds of my children.  They need my guidance in order to make sense of it all.  We are finding that the secular worldview is getting stronger, and God is being taken out of all decisions.  People start redefining truth based on what they feel like or what is culturally popular.  It is not a good trend.

It does excite me to know that we have a God who sees the whole picture.  He is never surprised and can take the relativistic culture we live in and display His glory.  The Word of God is always true whether we acknowledge it or not.  I take great delight in that because we need His Word to help us steer our kids to righteousness and to make sense of the chaos in the world.

So, while the world runs as fast as it can away from God’s Word everyday.  God is at work showing His great love to broken people who are desperate for some meaning.   Make today a purposeful day without wasting any opportunities to share Jesus with people who need a real Savior!  Everyday does still mean everyday.  Pray for families and children as they try to help their kids navigate the culture.  Pray for the truth of God’s Word to bear fruit in lives.  God’s Word will accomplish God’s work everyday!

Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. – Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Comment

