Pay Attention to Warnings

Not a stormy day

There is a storm brewing and it is kicking up some wind.  This storm has been coming for a while and we have been warned about it.  Yet the day before the storm hits people were frantically  running to the store for last-minute supplies.  Why?  Did we ignore the warnings?  Why put things off like that?

As we prepare for whatever we will get from this, I am reminded of the warnings in Scripture.  We are told that there is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.  At the same time, we have more and more people ignoring God until they are in trouble.  Of course then we wonder why we were never warned about it.

When my wife and I first got married we took a trip to a hotel for a weekend away.  It involved a few hours of driving from where we lived.  It was right after I had put new brake pads and rotors on my car.  In the process I  apparently had failed to fully tighten the bolt that holds the bracket on.  For a few weeks I could hear a clunk when I hit the brakes.  I did what anyone would do; I ignored it.  There we were, driving south on I-35 near Owatonna, MN when all of a sudden there was a clunk and a bunch of rubbing.  I pulled over and investigated, quickly discovering the problem.   The caliper had come off because the bolt had come out.  I put it back together quickly, thankfully locating the bolt there, and pulled into the parking lot of a store where I could buy some tools.  I went in, bought the right tool and then proceeded to fix it in the parking lot.  It turned out to be fine in the end, but I could have avoided it if I had listened to the warning signs.

Listen to the warnings.  We need to hear from God and that means we need to listen.  That also means doing what He says now instead of  leading yourself.

There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death. – Proverbs 14:12

3 comments

Leave a Comment

