What do you want me to do?

Can you fix it?

It is with great joy that my kids get new toys and with great despair that they break them.   I have never quite understood why churches, or carnivals, or church carnivals give out such cheap stuff as prizes.  Or, better yet, why do companies even make such cheap items?

Still it never fails.  My kids go to an event and they come home with junk.  My oldest son has gone to birthday parties and come home with a bag filled with weird items.  The least they could do is fill the bag with candy because then I could eat some.   Instead they arrive home. quickly show me the items they received, and proceed to break everything.  They are not destructive by nature, they are just boys.

This becomes especially amusing to me when I get one of my kids, usually my youngest son (3 years old), coming to me with a ball of plastic.  “Hey dad, can you fix this?”  I might be handy, but I am not that handy. Sometimes I can piece something together to make them happy.  Sometimes I can make something else that is even more exciting to them.   Most of the time I have to ask them, “What do you want me to do with that?”

Can you put this lettuce back together?

It is a helpful question to consider.  If my boys thrust a heap of plastic at me they might be asking me to throw it away for them.  They also might be asking me to melt it down and make something else.  In either case I just don’t know what my role is, unless I ask.

It takes faith from my boys to ask me to fix something for them.  They do this because they believe that I can do it.  I should point out that often they are wrong, but I do my best anyway.

That same faith my boys show me can also be shown to Jesus Christ, except He really can solve the problem.  I was struck by this as I read Luke 18 and the account of a blind beggar.  He had clearly heard of Jesus and when he finds out that Jesus is passing by he gets excited.

“He called out, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” – Luke 18:38

The crowd reacted with rebukes.  They did not want this blind man to get in the way of their celebrity.  The man was persistent and Jesus stopped.  The man was brought to Jesus and what Jesus asks next is very interesting.

“What do you want me to do for you?” Luke 18:41a

Why would Jesus ask that question?  Isn’t it obvious?  The man was clearly expressing some faith, but in order for people around him to understand all that was going on the man needed to say what he was after.  This also was a way to verbally express faith.

“Lord, I want to see,” he replied” – Luke 18:41b

This is like my boys when they come to me with their broken toys.  This man was coming to Jesus with his broken life.  His request was to take that broken life and make it whole.  He just wanted to see.  He just wanted to find relief from this condition he had been in and he truly believed Jesus could give him it, if he just asked.

This opportunity was not lost among many.  The man received his sight and followed along praising God.  He knew where this came from and was not shy about praising God for it.  This caught on and the people around him praised God also.

It is a compelling testimony that should encourage us.  We all experience brokenness at some level.   We can give to Jesus whatever mess we  are in and ask him to make it right.  It might be a painful process, like melting plastic down to something else.  It might be as simple as snapping something into place, like some of the toys out there.  In any case, it all comes to us from Jesus Christ.

The question is the same for us, though: “What do you want me to do for you?”

Do you have stories of the work of Jesus in your life?  Please share an example below.  We can then, like the crowd, praise God along with you.

2 comments

Leave a Comment

