Jesus Christ – The Way (Week 9) – How much is it?

Every decision we make costs something.  I know that in order to love my family the way I am supposed to that I also need to forsake some things.  This is the nature of relationships.  This week we continue our Sunday Series with a look at Jesus Christ as the Way by considering the cost of following Him.

How much?

The Cost of Following Jesus

“Large crowds were traveling with Jesus, and turning to them he said:  “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters—yes, even his own life—he cannot be my disciple.  And anyone who does not carry his cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.” – Luke 14:25-27

 What is that saying?  Is it saying that I need to hate my family?

Following Jesus is costly and this highlights that in a way people get.  Following Jesus means I align to him, not He aligns to me.  Following Jesus means that I change, not that I become more of what I am already, but I change completely

“All men will hate you because of me.  But not a hair of your head will perish. By standing firm you will gain life.”  – Luke 21:17-19

 The message of Jesus is not popular and it will cost you.  It does not change. You will be betrayed, you will be persecuted.  In our political climate, you will be seen as a hater.  The person of Jesus Christ still remains who He really is.

People still find their life in His name!  Diverse people of all nations see their answer in Jesus.

So, what does this mean for you?

1)    It means that we need to hold on to the Scriptures and tell the truth.

2)    It means that the same Jesus that demonstrated his power and taught radical things, still does the same today.

3)    It means that the life of the follower of Jesus will not be easy, but it is worth it.

I hope you have a wonderful Lord’s Day!

2 comments

  1. Well worth it indeed! I think, at least in one aspect, He is saying that when family… conflict with Him, we choose Him. We willingly leave all if He calls us to do so. So much of “Christianity” today teaches a soft, loving message, but that’s only a part of God’s message to us.

    1. The message here is that a relationship with Jesus is first. We follow Him first. It is kind of like that scene from the old Karate Kid movie. Daniel wants to learn karate and Mr. Myagi will teach him if he does what he says without question. He tells him that it is like walking along a road. If you walk on one side or the other side you are safe. But, if you walk in the middle you are “squished like a grape.” The lesson was that if he did not commit to following the instructor 100% then he risked being “squished like a grape” also. I think that is a pretty good illustration, albeit not perfect, of what this looks like.

Leave a Comment

