One Moment Among Many Moments

Moments make up our life. Do you make each one matter?

There are Sunday mornings that I wonder why we do Bible school for teens.  Often I get blank stares from students who are physically with me, but spiritually in some other universe hanging out by the ocean.  Sunday mornings are a hard time to teach teenagers the Bible.  It is actually a hard time to teach adults the Bible also, I must be fair.  With all people it is likely that they have been out doing things on the weekend and were not overly thrilled to get up on Sunday morning.  With the overloaded schedule so many people keep, many are already years behind in sleep.

I have weeks where I wonder why I put so much time into it.  Now don’t hear me wrong on that.  I love to study and teach God’s Word and I will continue to prepare accordingly.  It is just that there is a special energy that I experience when it is obvious that God has shown up in Spirit in addition to truth.

I remember one Sunday we were looking at Galatians 2:20 and also parts of Romans 8.    We were talking about the sin nature and how obnoxious it is still in the life of a believer.   I then read this:

“You, however, are controlled not by the sinful nature but by the Spirit, if the Spirit of God lives in you.  And if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ.” – Romans 8: 9

Immediately came the rebuke from one student, “That’s impossible!  There is no way I can do that.”

God had just opened up a door and now all eyes were on me to respond.  Would I say, “oh sure you can, just try harder,” like a good coach?  Would I ignore the comment or laugh it off?   Or, would I step though the door that God had so clearly opened up.   I told them that there was no way we could overcome the sin nature on our own.  Paul struggle in an incredible way with the sin nature and he was Paul.  We need Jesus Christ!  It is in Him where we find victory from sin.

The funny part of that encounter is that it was nothing new.  In fact, this student has been in the ministry for several years.  We have talked about sin and Jesus’ power of it.  We have talked about the vital relationship we have with Jesus Christ.  Yet, in this moment God chose to make it come alive and connected a few lingering dots.

This encourages me because for each of these days there are many  more days where it is harder to see it.  But, when we teach the Word of God well, God does His Work through it.   The trick here for parents, teachers, grandparents, or friends is to notice when those moments come in the midst of so many other moments.  We should be prepared to share the truth!   We might have a lot of things against us in this world, but God’s Word is not chained! (2 Timothy 2:9)

Some moments are calm, some moments are not

The other night before bed my 8-year-old said to me, “dad, do we all need to be baptized?”  It was a completely random thought.  I said, “well, baptism is something that we do to show our commitment to following Jesus.  He would like us to be baptized, yes.”  He thought for a minute and then said, “I just am nervous about being in front of people.”  I told him that this was a good thing because it showed how important this decision is and a willingness that we all have to take steps like that, even if they aren’t easy.  That was all he needed and told me good night.   A moment among many moments!

The most significant moment in history was not an easy one.  It involved pain, betrayal and grief.  Tucked in the midst of it all was God’s plan of salvation.  This moment changed the world and continues to transform people to this day!  A moment among many moments should not be ignored.

One comment

  1. I know I say Amen a lot, but Amen! I know how hard it is to teach young people when you feel like you’re teaching blocks of clay or something. But God promises that His Word will not return void, and every once in a while you get those moments that show God is really getting through. 🙂

Leave a Comment

