The Lego Jar (9/29/12) – I won’t even mention it

The Lego Jar makes me stop to appreciate things I would have otherwise missed.  Each time I stop to ponder all the things that have happened each week and how much I actually forget, I feel more and more like a couple of replacement refs that just missed an important call.  That, of course, is hypothetical since I am not even going to mention”it.”  A picture is worth 1,000 words, right?

Without mentioned that, let’s move on to the more important matters in life – my children.  Naturally they have managed to do many things this week that were meaningful and weird.  I am being schooled in school by my Kindergartener   He listens to every single rule and follows them perfectly.  They have been reading “Goldilocks and the Three Bears.”  It is funny that as they learn to complete sentences they will end the sentence with “a dot to end their thought.”  That is cute when he says it.  If I say it he just tells me to stop it.

Over the weekend my kids made some sort of fort.  It had a tent, complete with wood for the fire.  They cleared a path for their bikes and made a place to park.  It was quite the sight and they managed to spend the time playing together.

For the first time in recorded history, there is a spider on a web at our house that our kids are not screaming for me to kill.  The spider is up above the window in the upstairs bathroom.  It has been there for days and seems to be happy that we watch it.   It eats well in that location, which is especially fun for my boys.

My daughter turned 1 this week.  This whole growing up thing has become an epidemic at our house.  There seems to be no cure for it.  I notice this every morning when my 8 year old son doesn’t want to get out of bed.  Doesn’t that happen when they are teenagers, not in grade school?

This week was See You At The Pole where students gathered at their school flag pole in order to pray.  We have a flag pole in our yard, so my kids spent a few minutes praying for their schools also.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Comment

