The only thing done perfectly without God is…..NOTHING!

Fishing with my boys

I took the boys fishing again and caught very little again.  The reason this happens is because they have limited patience and an amazing ability to tangle, or otherwise cause their line to need some fixing. Naturally they are looking to me to provide the fix while they fiddle with local wildlife or tourists.   At the same time, my oldest son uses a reel that  is more difficult to cast and so he wants me to cast it for him.  It all becomes an exhausting endeavor for me.   I take the time to go fishing with them because they enjoy spending that time with me, not because we will ever actually catch anything.  We play in the water, look for snakes, find frogs and make attempts at catching minnows.  At the end of the day we catch very little, but we always have a great time doing it.

It is nice to be needed, but as a parent I want my kids to learn to be independent.  One of the sweetest things a  parent can receive is to have their child do soemthing for themself that they needed help with prior.  I guess you could say that we are trying to work ourselves out of a job, just not too quickly.

This is a positive when it comes to parents and their children.  It is this same dynamic that  I think encourages us to  apply that same concept to our relationship with God.  Even a cursory read through the Bible reveals that this is not what God intends for us.  In fact,  there is only one thing you can do without Jesus Christ.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. – John 15:5

I got it dad

The “my do it” stage comes quickly with us and God.  Then any attempt at living a Christian life is lost because in our own power we can do nothing.   In fact, you can be sure that the only thing you will in fact do perfectly without God is nothing at all.   Sure we can put on a few nice performances, but it amounts to nothing more than an empty shell.

The difference is that as we spend time with God, we actually realize that we need to become more dependent on Him.  The dependence actually grows with time rather than diminishes.  Maturity in our faith only comes as we rely more on Him and less on ourselves.  We need Him for everything.  He is our life, our joy and our strength.

I know that I long to help my children, even if it is a lot of work, because I know that this time is so valuable.  As a father, I want to do whatever I can for my children.  God does a much better job of that than I could ever do.  I think it is time to let Him work like He needs to!

4 comments

  1. My grandson’s phase (still said at times) was “Yes my am!” (which I thought was yes, ma’am for a long time). The youngest granddaughter just became my “No way!” girl for the same reasons. It starts early. But as I tell my independent son – it’s not good to be totally self-sufficient! It leaves no room at all for God. We must become vulnerable and see and admit our need. Angie

      1. I totally agree, Derek, but he sees that as weakness. I know God will get him, I just fear how big the two-by-four is going to have to be. For my birthday I asked for all my kids to come to church with me. The oldest couldn’t, but Tim was there and I saw tears in his eyes. He wants it. I know God’s got it in hand. When Tim graduated from High School, God told me “I want you to back off and shut up. I’ll deal with him.” So I have tried to do that and let God do His work without my interference. Tim is dating a Jewish girl (unsaved) and wants to marry. She wants him to convert. He won’t do it, but doesn’t see why they can’t go ahead and marry and teach their children both. WHAT???? Teach the kid Judaism as a heritage, but not as the way to God. These are the kind of things that make me wonder about his salvation. Anyway, enough of that. Just got spilling and couldn’t stop. I look forward to the day I can tell the testimony about my Timmy’s service to God. 🙂 Praying for you too as you try to raise those kids and teach youth and all the other things I’m sure you do. You inspire me 🙂 Angie

Leave a Comment

