Time Won’t Stop, Make It Count

There are times when I wish time just stood still and we were able to enjoy things in richer ways.  My kids are growing up at break neck speed and there is nothing I can do about.  Instead of complaining about it, I know I need to make the most of everything.  If you have read any of my blog before, you know that my kids make an adventure out of virtually everything.  This makes for interesting days and a lot of laughter.  The nature of our life is that we, at least right now, don’t get out much.  When we do go somewhere for a few days, my kids make the most of it.  I know that when they are older the things they will remember are not things, but times that were spent together.

A few weeks ago, we were able to take a trip to New Hampshire for a couple of days.  It was our first time going there as a family.  I mentioned some of the events in The Lego Jar post that week called, “Taking the Kids Out.”   I did mention a video I was working on for a later time.  Well, today is that day!  Before you watch the video below, I want to point out a few things.

Beautiful Scenery – One thing you will notice in the video is some scenery shots.  Lake Winnipesaukee is such a large lake that it was hard to really get a feel for it until we went and viewed it from a tower.  It is amazing!

Swimming –  My kids swam more than they ever have in their life.  Well, that might be an exaggeration, but they did swim a lot.  They jumped off the dock too, which is a significant step for them.  It wasn’t that long ago that my kids would not even enter the water, much less jump in like they do here.

Hammock –  The video of the hammock is hard to really understand, so let me explain.  It was quite windy the first day, so being on the hammock was more of a challenge.  I watched as my boys rigged a way to steady the hammock so that they could get into it.  You will notice that they were mildly successful.

Fishing-  We fished a lot and caught a few.  One of the videos from that I posted on the “No Throw Aways” Facebook page. It was just relaxing to be sitting on the lake and enjoying time fishing with the kids.  The time invested in that is worth every bit of time I spent tying my son’s line because he tangled it.

Secret Passage – There was a small space under the floor in one of the rooms.  That is where the kids were playing at the one point in the video.  They were intrigued by the potential for daddy-long-legs down there.  

Love Found Me –  Lastly, the song in the video is not random.  This is the song we play every morning of a road trip. In August when we head to Wisconsin and Minnesota, each morning begins with that song.  It has become the  song we start the day with and is what we would call a tradition at this point.

4 comments

Leave a Comment

