The Lego Jar (6/2/12) – Blue Giggles and Pickles

This week we enjoyed a visit from my parents and, as a result, the Lego Jar has different parts of that visit in it.

We started the week with a fishing trip into Nickerson State Park on Saturday.  As it turns out, it was a diversion for me so that my surprise party could be set-up.  It didn’t matter to me because I got to go fishing and then eat good food.  I took my oldest son and we caught very little, but had a great time.

Surprise!

Funny thing, though.  We went fishing again later in the week with my two oldest boys.  My five-year old said we were fishing for “blue giggles” and “pickles.”  (Blue Gill and Pickerel)  Here he is with one of the giggles.

I got a blue giggle

We also spent some time at different areas on Cape Cod Bay.  The weather has been nice and the kids always enjoy it.  We have often said that we don’t want to be one of those people who live in an area and never visit the things that people drive great distances to experience. As a bonus, we find things in the tidal pools that get tortured (only slightly) and then returned to their home.

And, of course, what would a trip to Cape Cod be without mini-golf.  We managed to all go one night this week. They all had very different ways of golfing.  My 7-year-old son was always in a huge hurry and often wouldn’t even wait for the ball to stop before he hit it again.  My 5-year-old would hit the ball and it would go flying all over the place.  My 2-year-old would hit the ball and then go get it again.  He really enjoyed the hole where the ball goes down a little tube to a different level.  He did that a few times. Oh, and I won.  That never happens.  Yes, there were other adults playing too, so I didn’t just beat my kids.  Although, I will take it however I can get it. 

And…then we feed more fish

As a little antecdote, there has been a bear that has been spotted in different places on the Cape this week.  I think it is a ridiculous story.  So, with our camp-out, my wife took a picture that has caused quite a stir.

Unbearable

With that, the Lego Jar is emptied once again.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend.  We will be camping at the local state park in the rain. (hopefully not)

Leave a Comment

