The Lego Jar (4/21/12) – Hey dad, I fixed the latch!

This week was school vacation week here for my oldest son.  We also had a few family members visiting, which provided extra stimulation for my children.  If you have been following along with the Lego Jar posts all along, you know that the very thing my kids need is more to do.  This week saw so many pieces fall into the Lego Jar that I don’t know if we will be able to ever sort them all out. But, let’s get started.

Made in China?

Made in China –  It seems everything that we own is made in China these days.  This important piece of information is not lost on my children.  One day this week my 7-year-old son made a calendar out of construction paper.  On the bottom of it, in order to make it authentic, he wrote “made in China” on it.   Even funnier to me was that he wrote 2011 and crossed it out.

Trip to Boston –  We took a trip to the New England Aquarium the other day.  On the way my 5-year-old said, “hey dad, we are the only green van with us in it.”  Add that to his list of random sayings. Of course, he is right.   We did have to make an unscheduled stop to purchase some clothing for a child who had a little accident on that way.  It was not the youngest one, who we had two pairs of clothing for.  It was the 5 year old child who had no extra clothes along.  I guess getting there is half the fun, right?

A New Dessert –  My kids love fruit. When I buy strawberries, they seem to be especially excited about it.  One day this week they were preparing to have their snack of strawberries.  On the counter next the berries stood two sticks of butter.  When my 5-year-old saw this, he ask, “Are we having butter on the strawberries?”  Now, some people might find that to be a fine idea. Somehow a half a pound of butter on six strawberries feels like overkill.   This is the same son who wanted to order pepperoni and peach pizza.  He actually meant that he wanted ham and pineapple, but pepperoni and peach might be the next big thing.

Subtle hints –  Since food is such an important part of our lives, let me describe a scene for you.  After about an hour and a half at the aquarium, my boys were starving.  They asked if it was lunch time the moment we arrived and every ten minutes thereafter.  So, we left and went to a local Panera for lunch.  As is almost always the case in these places, there was no open table for us.  We did manage to find a small two-seater table for us.  It

What was he hinting at?

was a challenge to fit the four of us at that table, but we managed.  As I watched my two-year old eat his yogurt tube, I wondered why anyone ever put yogurt in a tube.  I like spoons.  Anyway, after we were done eating my 7-year-old handed me a part of the menu he had ripped out.  You want to take a guess as to what his hint was?

Name the Contents-  Now we turn to a fun game. A game that you might be able to play someday, if you plan on having children.  It is a game that takes modern-day items and mixes them in the comfy quarters of your children’s jacket pocket.  This week we emptied our 7-year-old son’s jacket pocket.  As you will see in the picture, it was a smattering of items, all of which were very important to him.

Can you name all of the items?

I fixed the latch-  I named this post after one of the funniest moments of the week.  I had noticed that my 5-year-old was in the office doing something.  When he came out he was holding a small lock box that is now missing the lock.  He exclaimed, “I have fixed the latch!” His “fix” consisted of two pieces of clear tape.  He proceeded to demonstrate for me, in all seriousness, how this worked.  This child brings so much laughter to our lives.  The other day he asked why we laugh at him so much.  But, when he does stuff like this it is real hard not to.

Look, I fixed it

See, this is how it works

Well, that was my week.  I hope you enjoy your weekend in whatever way you are able to.  Don’t forget to enjoy the people who are around you! I close this week’s Lego Jar post with a few more pictures from our trip to Boston with the boys.  They ran through these ‘mist art things’ with such enthusiasm.   What are the purpose of these things on a 50 degree day? More importantly, what are they?  I don’t know.

4 comments

  1. Looks like you had a great time. I love all the treasures in the pockets. Fortunately, I do not identify any of them….filed under “Not mine, not my business”.

    And Angie is right…guard the duct tape. He will be fixing his bicycle before you know it.
    Red.

Leave a Comment

