Home > Bible Teaching, Devotional, Family, Kids > Just spending time together

Just spending time together

My boys can be funny about what they want me to do with them.  Over the last year, I have been spending a lot of my free time working on school work in pursuit of my Master’s Degree.  Since I am about done, they seem to have a list of stored up activities they would like me to do with them.

The weekend started with a trip to the airport to get grandma.  This excursion was reminiscent of the trip I wrote about in December when we went to get grandpa.  My wife had once again packed a lunch and my kids decided it was lunch time the moment they got in the van.  What was funny is how excited they were to go, even packing a back pack to take along, but how quickly they got irritated with the length of the trip.  We stopped at a store on the way to buy a few things and we were thrilled to see the amount of left over Easter candy for 50% off.  Then we walked through various parts of the store, attempting to make our way out of the store without losing someone.  We also managed to avoid the cheerleaders at the door trying to get us to make a donation.

Sunday was a full day.  After church, I ended up playing football with the boys.  As you can see, we are pretty good at it.

Then we moved on to baseball.  This was funny because my 2-year-old would put a wiffle ball into his glove and then throw it with his glove.  I took a picture, which I think represents my bull pen.  I think I have a bull pen that will go the distance.

The Bull Pen

We also managed to go for a walk with everyone and enjoyed our time racing down the street together.  Since my 7-year-old got a new bike, all he wants to do is race me.  He also races my 5-year-old son, who actually beat him a few times.  Let’s just say this was not appreciated by him, but rather amusing to me.

In a few weeks, my 5-year-old son and I are headed to Minnesota for a few days because I am graduating with the aforementioned degree. He randomly brings this upcoming trip up.  His comment to me on Sunday was, “hey dad, we are going on a trip, just me and you.  We are just going to spend time together, right dad.”

Just spending time together is really what it is all about, isn’t it? It is in that time together that my kids show me the heart of God with the sweet ways they express their love to me.   I am always reminded of the way that God loves me as I look at their unconditional love for me.  This was all punctuated for me as there was a story in the Sunday newspaper about a 2-year-old who was abused and is now on the road to recovery.  It is hard to fathom how someone could harm their child in such a drastic way.  This child had something like 30 broken bones at one point.  I know I can’t stand seeing my kids experience pain, especially when they are injured because I ran into them or the ball landed on their face.  This is not what a parent does to their child.

God has shown His love for you as His child.  He cares for you and wants time with you.  I know so many people who say they have no time for God, but how dreadful would that be if it were your child?  When kids get older and start to do their own thing, parents get emotional and start to panic.  God, as our Father, just wants you to come close and touch his face; to sit in his lap and enjoy Him. He does not want to see you harmed and does not relish in your pain.  He is the perfect example of what a parent should be.   I know, as a dad, when my kids come and sit with me, I enjoy it knowing that there is a day coming when they will spend less time with me.  The sad truth for many is that same dynamic becomes true for their relationship with God.  I think it ought to be the other way around.  The older we get, the closer to God we get because the vanity of life proves itself to be a waste of time and significance in life proves to only come in relationship with God.  Don’t forsake time with your heavenly father!  I know I would be sad if my kids ignored me.

“Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the spirit who calls out, Abba, Father.  So you are no longer a slave, but a son; and since you are a son, God has made you also an heir.” Galatians 4:6-7

  1. April 16, 2012 at 8:14 am | #1

    I loved this title! You really have your priorites straight, my friend.

  2. April 16, 2012 at 11:51 am | #3

    This is at the heart of an intimate relationship with God: “God, as our Father, just wants you to come close and touch his face; to sit in his lap and enjoy Him.” Great words, Derek!

  3. April 16, 2012 at 7:26 pm | #5

    Love this and timely reminder for the season I find myself in right now, trying to break free of the rush … thank you … read it as I ate breakfast and it resonated :-) God is Good!

    • April 17, 2012 at 9:02 pm | #6

      It always feels like things are moving at a faster pace. I think it is healthy to just slow it down a bit and enjoy what is going on right in front of you. For example, today I took my boys fishing. They had a great time just being out together. It meant I had to put some other things to the side, but it was worth it.

      • April 17, 2012 at 9:24 pm | #7

        That is exactly what I have been trying to do … Especially with my youngest having his last year at home this year … Boundaries are essential in this current season. You find find that even more so with being a youth pastor :-). Hope you caught a great catch.

        • April 17, 2012 at 9:30 pm | #8

          We didn’t catch anything big enough to keep. But, the kids enjoyed all the little fish we were able to catch. — By the way, boundaries are essential, I agree. This is why I took a few days off this week. I just needed to.

          • April 17, 2012 at 10:23 pm | #9

            Sounds good to me … Be blessed as you go!

  4. authormjlogan
    April 17, 2012 at 6:31 pm | #10

    I like how all three boys in these pictures are wearing GB shirts. And I like how you, their father, makes time to spend with them and then shares those times with us.

    • April 17, 2012 at 9:00 pm | #11

      Thank you. As a side note, the 2012 schedule was released tonight. Looks like a good year in store.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

