Are we going somewhere?

New Bike

After my 7-year-old got home from school on Wednesday, it was finally time for him to buy the new bike he has been saving up for.  I didn’t tell him where we were going, I just told him to get his shoes on.  I also invited his 5-year-old brother along for the ride.

“Hey dad, are we going somewhere?”

I thought that was a funny question because clearly we were going somewhere.  My older son coached the younger one by telling him that whenever we were in the car we were going somewhere.  But, even so, just a few minutes later he asked again.  It turns out he had no desire just to drive around for a while.  He wanted to know where we were going and why.

I grew up in a small town and as a part of the small town culture is the need to drive around aimlessly.  There are many people who would just drive around town because they wanted to just drive around town.  In other words, they had absolutely nothing to do.  I guess gas was cheaper then.

This was clearly not what my boys were after.  They wanted a direction and a purpose.  This became even more apparent when we got to the store and they figured out what we were doing.  They wasted no time running into the store to select the bike.  It seriously took him 5 minutes to decide and we were out of there.  I love the way my boys shop.

After dinner, my 5-year-old and I took a trip to the grocery store for a few items.  His purposeful lifestyle is even more apparent when you watch him there. He didn’t ask me if we were going somewhere because he knew.  He had ideas as to what he hoped to find.  In fact, before we even got in the store he was in the flower bed looking for something.  The funniest part, though, was the bin of ice in the produce aisle.  It appeared that there had been cheese in a bin of ice for sale at some point.  It was empty now, with just some ice in it.  He went right over to it, stuck his hand in it and ate some.  He then followed me to the tomatoes, then went back and stuck his hand in it again.  This trip he did manage to find a rope.  This rope he whipped things with as we went through the store.  Yes, it does get annoying.   He looked especially funny with his grubby shirt and face caked with dirt and ketchup.

The question about going somewhere might have been asked in a silly way, but it is still a good one.  “Are we going somewhere?”  I think that questions has implications for our lives.   I guess the answer is that we are all going somewhere.   Is the place you are going where you want to be going?  Do you really have a grip on where it is you are going?   This has implications as far as purpose also.  What is the purpose of your life?  It doesn’t matter how old or young you are, it matters that your life is on track with Jesus Christ.  You don’t have to have it all figured out.  You just need to stay close to the one who does.

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.  But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. – Matthew 7:13-14

9 comments

  1. Hi Derek; I really enjoy’d your post also made me stop and think .. Just where am I going… Well I’m sure hopeing that my last stop is with the Lord… I’m sure your son is really enjoying his bike.. Blessings… Bro pat.

  2. At one time, I could look at the world through my rose colored glasses and wonder where the people were that would enter the wide gate. Now I look around and wonder where the people are that will enter through the narrow. Interesting how perspective changes.

    Where are we going? It is easy to decide you want to enter the narrow gate. Not so easy to find the path to it. And obviously, there a lot of people today who don’t even care.

    Great post Derek. Thanks.

    MJ

  3. Your boys will be much more amenable to wasting gas in aimless driving when they are the ones doing the driving. Oops, maybe you didn’t want to know that! It is so important to know where you’re going. It’s also important to know where others in your sphere of influence are going. We act as if we don’t believe in a hell.

Leave a Comment

