The Lego Jar (3/3/12) – Just doing my thing

True to form, this week’s Lego Jar has all those random pieces piled on top of each other.  If you are not familiar with this, you can take a look at last week’s post in order to familiarize yourself.

—–

Just doing my thing

Friday morning my son was sitting in the recliner trying to write numbers.  He will be going to kingergarten next year, so this is his way of getting himself psyched up for it.  He is doing quite well with it and I even made a comment about how well he was doing.  He just looked at me and said, “Dad, I’m just doing my thing.”  I asked him what his thing was, but he ignored me.  This is the theme of this week’s Lego Jar.  It has been a week of our family just doing our thing, whatever that really means.

Growing ears–  All three boys got haircuts this week, which is always an exciting event for everyone.  My 4 year old son suddenly stated that now he was growing ears.  He went on to explain how this was because he was turning five soon and was growing. He tends to tie that in with the amount of vegetables he is eating.  I guess he is getting close to the right amount of vegetables because his birthday is next week.

How?

How?- Take a look at one of my son’s water bottles.  I mean, how do you drink out of that? He drinks it with such a tight fist that you would think it was about to get away.  But, it is his own and he can have it.

Treasure Collecting-  Besides the usual treasures, this week at the grocery store we were collecting food that was left on the floor.  This wouldn’t be too serious except that the food is underneath various things and is either moldy or just really dusty.  He even looked under the freezers and found it to be quite dirty under there. As you can see, he found a french fry, chip, some candy and he even had a grape at one point.  I convinced him to let the grape fall back to its home, he obliged.

Treasures

I-Spy- I played a riveting game of I-Spy with one of my children this week while on our way to a store.  Here’s the transcript.

Him:  “I spy with my little eye, something white.”

Me: “A sign”

Him: “No, it starts with ‘keeping you off of it'”

Me: “What?”

Him: “It’s the post, I tricked you.” (I am referring here to one of those guard rail posts)

Him: “I spy with my little eye, something that begins with air”

Me: “What?”

Him: “It points to something…..It’s an arrow”

Him: “I spy with my little eye, something that starts with ‘garbage goes into’.”

Me: “What are you talking about?”

Him:  “Garbage truck, yep dad.”

Good Morning Mr. Cashier-  Last week I mentioned a trip to a craft store.  This week I ended up there again, but nothing to report there.  I did go to a store where I encountered a rather sleepy cashier.  He was either sleepy or on some sort of drug.  Either way, he was definitely coasting through the day. There was a lady in front of me with a small handful of items, which paled in comparison to my cart full.  My children seem to think that we will never eat all of that food, but would you believe we need to go more than once? The cashier took a long time and then the lady had to pay.  After she did, she stopped and pulled things out of her purse and then back into her purse.  There was a line forming, but I guess that didn’t matter.  Last week I gave advice about this and I will give it again.  Please, when you are done with your transaction, move to the side.  Anyway, I had two gallons of the exact same milk.  One of the milk cartons had a UPC code on it and the other did not.  In my mind, you scan the carton with one twice.  In his mind, you call for a manager.  While we waited, he just stood there.  I guess it is ok for my son to take more time to look under everything for some hidden treasure, right?  The manager brought a different gallon of milk that happened to be in a nearby line for him to scan. He scans it and then the very next thing he scans was the second gallon of milk.  Is this a joke?  It got personal when he missed, not one, but two of my coupons.  I guess I was supposed to learn some patience that day.

Overheard-   If you have read my blog before, you know that my kids can say some interesting things.  Here is a sample for this week:

“When is tomorrow?” ; “Why is that called a flower bed? Do flowers sleep in it?” ;  “Dad, carmel is the black cheese and yellow is the other one.” (um, what?) .  There are also noises that come from the different areas of the house when our boys are playing.  It sounds like elephants and turkeys playing football.  Occasionally, a turkey doesn’t make it.

Snow– My kids don’t see snow very often.  One morning the deck had a little frost on it and they were excited to see it snow.  “Get out the snow pants.”  “Let’s get the tubes out.”

Snow storm!

Finished-  On a personal note, I have submitted my Master’s Thesis for review.  This means I am almost done with the work for my Master’s degree.  This was a lot of work and being this close brings me relief.  So, I thought I would share.

With that, the Lego jar is full.  Have a great weekend. 

7 comments

  1. Congratulations on the Thesis/Master’s Degree. That is quite an accomplishment! You won’t know what to do with yourself now:) I’m sure your boys will come up with something to take up the time!

  2. Congratulations on finishing the thesis. I am just beginning down the road toward’s my Master’s and I do realize the hard work you put forth. WTG.

  3. Congrats on the thesis … what a mile stone! I hope you are going to celebrate.
    Loved the Lego Jar this week 🙂 … and don’t you just love being given the opportunity to deveop the Fruit of the Spirit … like patience at the supermarket 🙂

Leave a Comment

