Never Alone

Ready to go

No matter what I do in life, I have a companion. More often than not, I have more than one companion.  These companions make themselves known to me by pointing something funny out to me, grabbing my tools and just desiring to be where I am.  These companions often slow me down in my task, but are allowed to do so because the time with them is cherished. If I even mention ‘grocery store’, my companions get their shoes on and start to petition to come with.  It has gotten to be so normal that people who see me around town know that I am typically never alone in public.  I was at the post office last week and the man there asked me who I had with me.  Since I had just come from the church, I had no companion, but I still had to look.

My companions will imitate me and irritate me, often in the same moment.  They will rearrange my stuff, attempt to help and make things worse while making constant noise.  They will even take my discount candy that I purchased and turn the lesson on sharing around on me.  However, take that scenario and reverse it and, well I think you know how that story ends.

Ready to work, dad

These companions will shower love on me, with hugs and kisses at unexpected times. When they arise in the morning, they come to my room to get me.  When I come home at night, there is excitement that I am home and hope that I am there to stay.  They will in the next moment get mad at me for making them clean up their mess, stating that it “isn’t fair.”  Then later on in the evening they will be sitting on and around me, trying to get as close to me as they can.  At times, even their grubby hands don’t bother me when they rub my face to feel the whiskers, or just to show some affection.

As a father, I love the companionship of my children.  As a husband, I love being with my wife.

I love the way God illustrates these things because it is true that I have another companion; a companion that loves me more than I often stop to think about.  This companion desires for me to come, sit with Him and talk.  He is patient with me in my mistakes, calming to me in my stresses and truthful in my disobedience. This companion walks with me, even when I can’t walk; prays for me when I don’t have the words to pray; cries with me when there appears to be no other.  This companion gives grace for each moment, peace for each struggle and joy in all circumstances.

You too, as a beloved child of God, have His companionship as well.  People have tried with great intent to run away from God, but there is no place to go where God is not.  You might feel like you are in the deepest, darkest, most awful place and God has not left you.

“Were can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?  If I got up to the heavens, you are there;  if I make my bead in the depths you are there.” Psalm 139:7-8

There is no place you can be where God has not been.  He will give to you what you need for each moment, even if in that moment the pain doesn’t vanish.   An example of this can be found in Deuteronomy 2, as they have been wandering around the desert for a while now.  You would think that time wandering around a desert would probably get a little old, so some perspective for the journey would be welcomed.

“The LORD your God has blessed you in all the work of your hands.  He has watched over your journey through this vast desert.  These forty years the LORD your God has been with you, and you have not lacked anything.”  Deuteronomy 2:7

Despite any lack of faith or confusion, God has not left them.  What a wonderful reminder for us of the faithfulness of God in our lives.

God is everywhere (picture of jungle of Gabon)

As I receive the love from my children, I am often reminded of the love that God has for me.  I get a glimpse of what it must be like when we come to God just to be with Him; what joy that must bring to Him.   So,  as you go about your day today, maybe just take a few moments to consider the one walking with you today.  Be encouraged in whatever you have before you because He has never left you and He never will.

  1. February 24, 2012 at 9:16 am | #1

    Awesome and heart-affecting post. Thanks for sharing what is and should be the most important and most meaningful things of life.

    • February 24, 2012 at 11:08 pm | #2

      Writing these type of posts makes me stop and appreciate what is important. I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks

  2. February 25, 2012 at 10:58 pm | #3

    Having children really does make a lot of Bible verses much more real. My husband and I did the same with our daughter – she went with us everywhere. It was seldom she wasn’t with one or both of us. I’m glad you realize they’re loving you even when they do rub their hands all over your whiskers.

    Nancy

    • February 26, 2012 at 10:08 pm | #4

      My wife and I have determined that we would much rather have our kids along, than leave them at home. I take my kids everywhere. Yes, it takes me twice as long, but I think this matters in the long run. I do get glimpses of the heart of God in them and it amazes me every time.

  3. February 26, 2012 at 9:24 am | #5

    God really knew what he was doing when he designed your model, Derek! Why can’t there be more like you?

    • February 26, 2012 at 9:57 pm | #6

      Thank you, although I certainly don’t have it all figured out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

