What’s love got to do with it?

Every Day is Valentine's Day

Today is Valentine’s Day.  A holiday that has been blamed on the card companies really has a long and legendary history.  But, since most people don’t know that, it really is not all that relevant to the common celebrations.

It is somewhat bizarre how Valentine’s day is viewed by many people.  It is a day where you can show your undying love for someone through chocolate and little candy hearts that say really strange things.  Of course, I won’t complain about that because that just means that soon there will be leftover candy at 50% off.   Roses are also a popular item people buy for someone special in their life.  Flower shops know this and mark the price up and people step up and pay the price because Valentine’s Day cannot be messed with!  Flowers are not edible, so I pay less attention to them.

So much emphasis is placed on getting something special for that special someone on this day that maybe it tends to get a little vain.  If I buy my wife a card one time a year and the rest of the year ignore her, is that love?   Will she so appreciate that I went and bought a card on a day that no one could ever forget?  I mean, sure she will.  But, will it mean more when it is June 15th and I do something nice for her just because I love her?  You would have to live in your own universe to miss Valentine’s Day, but unexpected appreciation is far more rewarding.   What message do we send to our children when we ignore our spouse, or our children, all year and then one time a year buy them something special because it is the day set apart to do that? Love is not something that can be purchased, it is something that is lived.

What if this wasn’t just a single day holiday, but a year long event?  What if people looked around them and saw, I mean really saw, the people who were there?  Of course getting chocolate is nice, but is it possible that is not what those people around you need? It could be that they just want to spend some time with you.  Perhaps you are so disconnected from the people around you that you are missing out on their lives.  I think this day should make us all step back and think about that.  Who really wants to be guilty of taking anyone for granted?

Let the people in your life know that you love them.   Recently I was watching some video on YouTube with my 4-year-old son.  During the video there was a picture of Jesus on the cross.  He looked at me with a serious look on his face and said, “Dad, is that Jesus?  Shouldn’t He be in heaven by now?”   I loved that comment because it just illustrates again my son’s thinking on Jesus Christ.  But, even more than that He is right.  Jesus is not still struggling on the cross for us, He has risen.  God has shown to us the ultimate love He has for us in the death of His Son.  This is not something offered to us just one day a year, but every day because He is alive! God does not wait for an expected time to shower us with His love, but He shows that love to us all the time.   He has lavished you with His love!  Let’s not misplace that on all the other days of the year.

 “How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!  And that is what we are!”  – 1 John 3:1

4 comments

    1. It was not intended to hurt 🙂 — My kids learn, but not always because I am somehow great at teaching them. They often have a better understanding of things than I do. Or, maybe just a more simple and clearer understanding of something. But, thanks for your kind words.

  1. “so disconnected from the people around you that you are missing out on their lives.” I have been thinking about this myself lately. A friend is upset about something that happened to her at church. Tons of people are calling to check up on her…. Why didn’t they call her before all this? Why do we tend to jump in in a crisis (or on a holiday) and stay with our noses stuck in our own overweening concerns the rest of the time? We are not responsible to see everything, after all, we can’t see other people’s insides if they don’t show it. However, we are responsible for letting people know we care. It means a whole lot more when it’s spontaneous and a ‘just because’ thing than it does when it’s done in a response to an “oh, I didn’t know you were hurting” crisis. You will see this in a blog post soon, I’ve been working on it a little at a time. Thank you for this post. I save yours and a couple others in a special folder so I don’t accidentally miss any of them:) I may be late, but I’ll be there. God bless…. Angie

Leave a Comment

