How many suns are there?

Wednesday is my day off, which means it is the day I get to do the weekly errands.  Generally it means I take a trip to the grocery store with one of my kids.  This week it also meant I needed to go get one of our vans inspected.  The state of Massachusetts likes to micromanage our ability to maintain our vehicle, so I went to get that done.  I took my 4-year-old son because you just can never go wrong when you take him out in public. As we leave he is just jabbering away about something that he sees and what he is thinking.  Then it got silent.  The next thing he said, “hey dad.”  Now, if you have been following along you know that whenever he says, “hey dad”, it is always followed be some sort of deep thought.

(son)”Hey dad, how many suns are there?”

Now, at this point I don’t know what he is referring to.

(me) “How many sons does who have?”

(son)”No, how many suns are there? Is it bright everywhere?”

(me)”Oh, there is only one sun.”

*Long pause* You could almost see the wheels spinning in that head of his.

(son) “Are there a thousand suns?”

(me) “No, there is only one sun.”

And here is where this whole picture became real to me.  I could see what he was trying to figure out.  He wanted to know how there could be something so big that it is everywhere at the same time.   This is a deep thought for a 4-year-old to think and I realized in that moment that I have never really thought about that before.    In fact, I go through most of the day and never even think about the sun at all.  The only time I ever notice the sun is when I put my sunglasses on or when it is hidden by clouds.

I think this relates to how we often treat God. Here we have a loving, mercifully, faithful God who never leaves us, never.  Yet, so many go through the day without even an acknowledging His presence.   That is, of course, until something awful happens and fists immediately get raised at God for not “fixing it.”

My son’s thought about how that one sun could give light to everyone is a similar concern people have when it comes to Jesus Christ.  There is only one way to God and yet so many will tell you there are many paths that eventually lead to God.  God has given to us a way to Him, a single way.  We should be grateful He gave us any way at all! God walks with us, calls us, carries us, encourages us, teaches us, shapes and ultimately saves us by His grace for His glory.

It makes no difference if you are in the United States or India, God is God. There is only one true God, the rest are counterfeits.  It is like if someone tries to pass off artificial light as natural light. There is a difference and if you have ever tried to grow something under artificial light, you know the challenge in that. Many world religions teach many gods that have specific roles and names. But, God ruled out any doubt about who He is when He gave Moses what to tell people who ask His name.

“Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?”

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.[This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’” – Exodus 3:13-14

No matter what you are facing, or how distant you feel God is to you right now, the answer is in His name — I AM.  He is and always has been exactly what you need.

As a way to punctuate this point and provide some other encouragement, there is a video I want to share to close this post.  It is a video from the Skit Guys, two guys who create skits mainly for the youth ministry crowd.  This video is about the way God works in our lives and how He is working in each individual life for His glory.  I showed this at youth group a few months back and people there were deeply moved by it.  I trust that as you go about your day today, you will notice God’s work in your life.  He is active and with you; much closer than you think.  Here’s the video: God’s Chisel

5 comments

  1. So many salient bits here! I love “The Chisel” (and the skit guys) although I have not seen them in a while. You have some very smart children there. I have no doubt that that is why God tells us we must ‘become like children’. They see things we have long since forgotten about. Great post. Angie

Leave a Comment

