Is it tomorrow?

Well, here’s another installment of the random things my kids talk about and the lessons God teaches me in them.  I know, it is very pastoral of me to take all of these life stories and somehow make a lesson out of them.  But, I am a pastor so I guess that is how it goes.

My wife made a cake for New Year’s Eve because she likes making cakes and we like eating them.  It is the perfect match.  She made it the day before and told my 4-year-old son that he could have some ‘tomorrow.’  The next day he asked her, “Mom, is it tomorrow?”

What do you say to that?  I mean, technically it is not tomorrow, it is today.  But, if I say to him that it is not tomorrow, he will always be disappointed that he can’t have cake.   This got me thinking about how we think about tomorrow.  I think it probably helped stir my thoughts when I saw that the movie Groundhog Day was on. What an intriguing movie that is and one that is just as ridiculous every time I watch it, yet I watch it with some sort of strange wonder.  The idea is that this weather man is stuck reliving this one day over and over again.  At one point he says, “What if there is no tomorrow, there wasn’t one today?”

So, back to my son.  I know what he meant.  He wanted cake right now and who could blame him.  But, little did he know that dad’s brain was churning with the words of Jesus.  This might be something that he rolls his eyes at later.  You know the “there dad goes again” look?

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.- Matthew 6:34

Just enjoy today!

That is so true.  Think about how much time is spent on worrying about tomorrow and thereby missing what is going on today.  There have been times I have dreaded something and been off in another world in my mind, missing things going on right in front of my eyes.  What will worrying get anyway?  If I worry about every possibility or issue that could come up, will it change the outcome?

I could look at my four children and worry about what they will become.  I could look at the world and wonder how much of it they will love over God.  I could look at the next five years and plot out what I think the highs and lows of it will be.  And you know what?  I will be wrong.  I do not hold the future and I cannot direct the future, but I know I can trust the one who does.

What will I do tomorrow?  I don’t know because it will never come.  All we have is today, so let’s not waste it.

5 comments

  1. “I do not hold the future and I cannot direct the future, but I know I can trust the one who does.”

    Amen! Thats my favorite thing to say when those other questions pop into the head. Worrrying is a pointless activity, and yet it slips in there any time we are not on guard. I seldom worry at this stage of my life (and some people think I should worry every now and again:).

    I am not a pastor, but I often think like one. I get the ‘eye roll’ thing sometimes as well. It is a gift I love, whether my family appreciates it or not!

    Thank you for sharing this post. Enjoyable and thought-provoking, as usual.

  2. “What will I do tomorrow? I don’t know because it will never come. All we have is today, so let’s not waste it.”
    That’s gold, Jerry, gold!
    Seriously, well said.

Leave a Comment

