Home > Family, Kids, Life, The Lego Jar > The Lego Jar (7/21/12) – How many gallons longer will you sleep?

The Lego Jar (7/21/12) – How many gallons longer will you sleep?

Is summer flying by quickly, or is it just me?  We have been busy running around and enjoying summer before it leaves.  This week my 7-year-old son and I took our trip to Six Flags together.  This was his time that I promised him after I took my 5-year-old on my trip to Minnesota in May.  However, the week was full of other things for the Lego Jar that I will save that trip for a separate post.  It was a great day with him!

Put me in coach

The week started with a get-together with some friends and my daughter wanting to play football.  I know she is young, but it is hard to argue when she just picks it up like that.   I am so proud of her!

Of course, my boys were playing with a shovel a few days later and my 5-year-old lost a tooth in the process.   As a side note, our back yard is starting to look like a scene from the movie “Holes.” They haven’t found anything yet.   I wasn’t too excited about him losing a tooth that way, except that it was an accident and the tooth was already loose.  I asked him how he lost it and it he said that his brother “banged it out with the metal part of the shovel”  I find that a little hard to believe since there was no other injury, but would he make up a story?

Then came the time for him to put the tooth under his pillow for the tooth fairy to come.  His concern was that the tooth fairy might see his underwear.  This was something that he had never considered before and was quite concerned about.  This concern was cast aside when he received his two quarters for the ice cream he plans to buy at school in the fall.  He does start kindergarten in the fall and can’t seem to wait for that to get here.

Which reminds me of another thing he said this week.  The day after my older son came back from Six Flags he slept later in the morning.  Here is the conversation he had with my wife that morning:

5-year-old: I am going to sleep 20 gallons longer than him.
Mom : Really? 20 gallons longer?
5-year-old: Yep. That is 20 miles past elementary school.

Planting a peach tree

Ok.  I know that there are some strange things being said these days, but what is he talking about?

No matter, we moved on in the week and they found more fun things to do.  After dinner one night they decided they would take the seeds from the peach and plant them in the ground.  They dug the hole, covered it and then watered it.  Afterwards, they stood over it like they had just buried a long-lost loved one and looked for new plants that had grown in the last-minute.

Oh, and we had corn on the cob!

Note where he placed his corn on the cob holders

She loved it!

One of the really fun things that my kids do is create things.  They are very imaginative and find ways to make even the mundane fun.  In addition, my 7-year-old son likes to post signs on things he creates.  This week he made something out of his Kinex and then set it up for display.  When I came I was amazed with it and the pride he took in it.

On display

Then as a late addition to this post, he also created a bow out of a bucket top and some sticks.  The picture is blurry, but the bow looks awesome.

That should do it for this week’s Lego Jar.  I hope your weekend is full of moments to remember and people you love.  Have a great weekend!

  1. July 30, 2012 at 1:26 am

    Kids! You never know what they’re going to say!

  1. July 28, 2012 at 4:35 am

Leave a Comment

