Home > Bible Teaching, Family, Kids, Life > I want dad to do it.

I want dad to do it.

One of the greatest joys I experience as a father is having my children express desire for me to be home.  On the wall in my office is a school project that my son made for me which describes one of the most important things about me.  Here is what it says:

“The most important thing about my dad is that on Wednesday he has a day off.  When he has a day off sometimes he brings me and my brother places like the store and places like that. But the most important think about my dad is that on Wednesday he has a day off.”

My kids enjoy being with me.  If I come home one of my kids will ask me if I have work to do.  There are many days I come home and need to leave again for a meeting of some sort.  But, oh the joy that they express when I can stay home.   My kids have gone through periods of time when they have favored mom for things and then they have wanted me for other things.  Currently, my two-year old son wants me for everything.  My wife can’t even get him a glass of water without him expressing the desire for “dad to do it.”

If you have ever seen me out in public with my kids, you know that they are generally a few steps behind me.  I often have to remind them to look where they are going or to stay with me.  It is not that they wander off, it is just that they are easily distracted.  Yet, they always want to go with me.  It is now to the point where if I mention leaving, open the door or even hint at anything I will get a barrage of “I want to go” from all of my children.  They just want to do things with dad because going to the store with dad is just cool.

It excites me to think that they want to spend time with me even in the mundane areas of life.  The other day I was changing the shocks on my wife’s van and there were my three boys right there with me.  One of them was holding the flashlight, the other was playing with the tools and the other was just asking random questions.  They did nothing that helped me get the project done, but they sure loved to be there with me.   I often look at them and wonder how much more God enjoys these things.  Unlike me, God is never distracted by meetings or other obligations.  He always gives His undivided attention, something I could never do even to my 4 kids, that he does with ease for everyone!   There is an intimacy described in Scripture in our relationship with God, kind of like my kids and I.

” So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

For I am the Lord your God
who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
I will help you.” – Isaiah 41:10 & 13

Sleeping on dad’s chest.

God leads us by his hand and he takes hold of our hands.  My kids don’t always like it when I grab their hand, but by doing so I am able to guide them or keep them safe.  God does the same for you and I.   He wants to be with you and desires for you to simply desire to be with Him. He wants you to sit with Him and enjoy Him.  He wants you to say, “I want Dad to do this” instead of just doing it yourself.   I am thankful for the reminder my kids give to me on this and how they are able, without knowing it, to so eloquently display the relationship we are to have with our heavenly Father.

What is your reaction to this?  Can you relate?  

  1. authormjlogan
    July 19, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    What a great post. Taking how your kids follow you and turn that into how we should all follow God. This is why I enjoy reading your blog.

    MJ

    • July 19, 2012 at 4:34 pm

      God uses my kids to teach me so much I figured I should share some of that. I am glad you take the time to read and even enjoy it. What a privilege for me!

  2. July 19, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    I remember when I was a new husband, I had made the volitional decision that I wasn’t going to be the husband/father on his death bed that said, “I wish I had spent more time at home and not working” My father was a high powered corporate executive who wasn’t home much. He provided very well, and expressed his love through money and gifts. But that’s not what i wanted as a kid. I wanted him to play ball with me. We played 1 game of basketball in the entirety of our lives together. But I know he loved me because I understood what motivated him. I am so blessed that God has allowed me to “be there” for my son, home schooling him, and being able to spend lots of time with him. My son “gets me” and I am eternally grateful for that. Thanks for this message on the blog, it warms my heart to read this and watch your kids grow in front of us.

    JOD

    • July 19, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      The time goes so fast, as I am noticing more and more. I try to spend as much time with my kids as possible. I have been able to do more one-on-one activities with them as they have gotten older. They are always such sweet times. I would rather do things with my kids and avoid getting someone to watch them. Not to mention that a babysitter is expensive anyway. — I am also glad your son gets you. This could be your greatest success story.

  3. July 20, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Awesome. I always tell God not to let go of my hand so I can never stray too far. I’m also learning to just be and not feel like I have to entertain. What a great word picture here! Angie

    • July 22, 2012 at 10:39 pm

      To “just be” really is quite freeing if we can do it. There is a big “if” to that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

