Home > Bible Teaching, Kids, Life > Here they come!

Here they come!

Yesterday I wrote about a time when Jesus healed a blind man and the people just didn’t get it.  It was not for lack of evidence or clarity, but rather just a lack of eyes that see what is actually going on.

Here they come…ready or not!

This is the problem with a lot of things.  When we ignore the warning signs, we often miss the event.  For example, I often wonder what some of the people in the neighborhood think when we take a walk as a family.  My kids do not intend to announce their arrival to the entire world.  They just are loud because that is who they are.  You could stand at the end of the block and know that we were coming down the road.  It is that loud.  My kids have a great time when we go on walks.  They dig, run through puddles, talk with people and just make it a fun experience.  No matter what anyone wants to think or believe,  there is no doubt they are coming down the road.   As a side note, no one appears to run away from us.  They also don’t have enough lead time to run away, so I guess we will never know if they would run.

If we think about the way people view events in life, we realize that it has a lot to do with what is visual.  Yet, before the visual is often an audible signal that something is coming.  Before a storm there is often thunder.  Before a train there is a whistle and some noise.  Before the Lord returns there is a trumpet that sounds.  All these things are hard to miss unless you are somewhat indulged in your own little world and miss it.

Scripture tells us that “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.” (Psalm 19:1)  It is as if the earth is screaming that there is a God.  The way things are made and sustained points to the Creator. Just like the noise of my kids indicates that they are coming down the road.  Even so, there are many who are quick to cast all of it aside as just fairy tale or superstition.  But, we know God is at work!

Don’t miss out on what God is doing!

As we go about this week, I have encouraged my youth group to pay attention to where they see God.  We know God is present and active. We also know that we miss it often because we just are not paying attention. My challenge to you is to make it a point to pay attention to where you see God and then post what you see.  I think we would all be encouraged by that.

  1. Brother Jon
    July 3, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    If I saw you guys coming I wouldn’t run away but I would probably act like I didn’t see you. That’s all my fault. I’m kinda antisocial. I like the new layout. Very nice.

    • July 3, 2012 at 6:04 pm

      We can be overwhelming to some people I guess. I don’t know how you could act like you didn’t see us since it is quite the production. But, I get it though. — The new layout seems to be working alright and I really like it also.

  2. July 3, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Amen. I’ve been trying to teach something similar. I want them to become aware — of God’s hand, of the Spirit’s conviction and teaching, of the needs around them, and an awareness when a ministry moment happens. I’ve been trying to become more aware myself too. I don’t want to miss out on anything God has for me! Angie. Keep teaching and sharing. :)

    • July 3, 2012 at 8:35 pm

      It is an important skill to learn. I like the idea of ministry moments. It seems like there is no shortage of them, when we look that is.

  3. July 4, 2012 at 11:53 am

    This is so true. Our church runs a course called Presence and is all about learning how to turn our antenna towards God and being aware of Him in our every day lives … If we do we then taste and see that He is always with us, rather than a mere intellectual belief that He is always with us. I love reading your blog when I get a minute to do do – thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

