Home > Family, Kids, Life, The Lego Jar > The Lego Jar (6/23/12) – Summer Begins

The Lego Jar (6/23/12) – Summer Begins

Welcome to the first summer edition of the Lego Jar.  We have a jar filled with randomness from my children straight to your home.  This week school wrapped up and the rhythm of our home changed.   So, let’s jump right in.

First off, my two oldest boys are riding today in a kid version of the Pan Mass Challenge.  This raises money for The Jimmy Fund, which supports people receiving cancer treatment at the Dana Farber center in Boston.  My kids are riding to support Nick, who is a 16-year-old boy fighting a rare form of Sarcoma in his body.  So, here is my shameless plug.  If you are interested in being involved, you can let me know. I will have a video of this to post sometime next week and will let you know how it goes.  I am very proud of them for their desire to be involved in this.  We did not make them do this.

For those who follow my blog regularly, you know that we did some fishing this week.  In fact, I went two different times!  My oldest son (7) has been really getting into fishing this year.  After we returned the other day, my two oldest boys made fishing poles out of stick, fishing line and paper clips.  They even made little fish out of construction paper to catch.  The then proceeded to play “fishing” in the living room.  One person was the fish and the other was the fisherman.  As a fun side not,  on Wednesday, we saw a rather larger water snake of some sort.  Of course my son tried to catch it.  He recently watched the entire season of “Python Hunters” with me, so he knows what he is doing.  He told me that since it wasn’t venomous, it was fine.  What he failed to understand was that it will still bite.  Luckily, he missed and caught a toad instead.

Nice pose

With school being done for the summer, there is more time on m 7 year old’s hands.  On Friday I caught him out at the picnic table reading to his brother.

My 5-year-old son decided to get sick this week.( well maybe not)  He started complaining about his neck hurting, then his head, then his mouth, his leg and finally his ear.  He also had a fever and was dizzy, so he went to the doctor.  As it turns out, he has a double ear infection.  This infection involves blisters on his ear canal.  Evidently it should be painful, but he has been manly about it.

Friday night as he was getting ready for bed my wife was talking to him about the medicine he needs to take.  He told her that he didn’t like taking medicine.  My wife told him that he needed to because it fights the ear infection.  He thought about it and said, “Does it have a sword?” He thought that it would be cool if the medicine had a sword it used to fight the infection.

Lately he has been telling us that he “feels manly.”   This started on our camp-out because that was a manly trip.  So, I told him that he was being manly about his pain. He told me no he didn’t think so.  “Dad, I don’t feel manly anymore.”  I guess that comes and goes.

And with that, I think that does it for this week.  I hope you have a fun-filled weekend with the special people in your life.

  1. June 23, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    Great kick-off to summer, Derek!

  2. Red
    June 25, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    Love that they rode in the race. I think it would be cool for antibiotics to have swords…come to think of it, I would like it better if they had hand grenades ;) Happy Summer!
    Red.

    • June 29, 2012 at 2:37 pm

      The race was awesome. It actually made me a little emotional to watch because of what it was all about. Hand grenades seem to make sense. I wish I had some of that today, since I feel awful — Have a great weekend!

      • Red
        June 29, 2012 at 2:44 pm

        Hope you get to feeling better. A lot of people have the summer malaise.
        Red.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

